Adi Cat
1 min readMar 5, 2022

--

After reading this I was trying to find a section to highlight and respond to, when I realized I would be highlighting the entire thing. You hit the nail on the head, but even that is just a scratch of the surface, sadly.

There are so many people falling through the cracks as jobs get more demanding and inflation skyrockets now. Financial trauma is every day life when you've got any kind of disability that doesn't allow you to work enough to pay your bills.

"Just apply for disability!" They say. You mean the disability that isn't enough to even pay my rent with? What about utilities? My family car? Things my child and disabled husband need?

"Apply for Section 8 then!" Oh you mean the one with a 4-year waiting list?

Financial trauma is a factor in my every day life and has been for as long as I can remember. It's the main source of my stress, anxiety and depression.

There is no amount of medication that can help the fact that no matter how hard I work, I can't make enough money to ever do more than scrape by.

I'm constantly extending myself beyond what I can physically and mentally afford to, just to make sure the bills stay paid enough that we can live.

It's exhausting to the point that I don't even have the ability to work on the career that I actually want, I'm just stuck working the one that pays the bills NOW. Because there is no "later" when your bills are already far past due.

--

--

Adi Cat

Mother to one human and three cats. Lover of words, food, and stirring the pot. LGBTQ+ and body positive. IG: @adimeows