Adi Cat
2 min readFeb 12, 2022

--

As an American, I completely agree with everything you've said, but especially this part. This entire article has summed up a great majority of how I've felt about this country for a long time.

A large majority of our problem here in the US is that not enough people who aren't right-wingers know and care about the issues. There are so many reasons for this that I couldn't possibly go into them all, but many of them are staring all of us in the face yet still being ignored.

Voluntary discomfort for the sake of change is simply not the American way. As you said, this country has always relied on everyone else to do the work for them, and there is nothing left in this country that is untouched by that principle.

You are completely correct when you say that America isn't going to stop collapsing. It really won't. I fought for years to change things from the progressive grassroots level and let me tell you, it's heartbreaking. World-shattering.

You try, and you try, and you try. And the good guys always lose because we have morals, standards and dignity where the so many of the right-wingers do not. It's disheartening because you know unless you sacrifice your core beliefs and stoop to their level, you'll never win.

Sadly, the problem isn't exclusive to the right-wing, and we've seen the left repeatedly cut progress off at the kneecaps just to make a dollar, or a few million. Fascism is gonna fascism regardless of what party or label you put on it to make it sound prettier. The actions define it, not the political affiliation. That's something we also often forget.

It's disgusting and I've been ashamed to call the US my home for quite a while now. Leave? I wish I could. But unfortunately, I am part of the imploded working class and can barely afford the current roof over my head.

C'est la vie.

--

--

Adi Cat

Mother to one human and three cats. Lover of words, food, and stirring the pot. LGBTQ+ and body positive. IG: @adimeows