Adi Cat
1 min readOct 9, 2021

--

Honestly this article just made me laugh. People who aren't creepy and predatory towards others don't generally feel a need to make a spectacle out of their ...normal behavior.

It's usually the ones that are frequently inappropriate towards women that run around screaming that they're a "nice guy" and usually in the same breath as their last creepy advance.

As a fat, white, democrat with bright colored hair living in the US, generalizations and assumptions are made about me every day, most frequently by people who don't even know my name. If they don't apply to me, I don't take them personally & they don't bother me.

However in a situation such as this one, attempting to invalidate someone else by saying "BUT I'M A GOOD GUY SO NOT ALL MEN" doesn't make you a creep, but completely tone deaf and obviously not really understanding just what it is that women deal with on a daily basis.

Yeah, we get it. Not all men. Many women are happily married or partnered to men so that really doesn't need to be said. But it's performances like this (and much worse) that make us distrustful of men in general, because not a single one who is will openly admit that they're a creep/predator/inappropriate.

Every single one of them will claim to be a good guy. The ones who feel the need to say it loudly usually aren't, so I don't think you're really conveying the point you think you are with this article.

--

--

Adi Cat

Mother to one human and three cats. Lover of words, food, and stirring the pot. LGBTQ+ and body positive. IG: @adimeows