Adi Cat
2 min readJan 23, 2022

--

I used to consider myself a liberal, but at this point I don’t feel the need to put a political label on my desire for kindness, equality and human decency to become the standard by which our country is governed. Although if I had to, I’d say I’m just aligned democratically left.

I think those threatening to stop voting democrat are doing so because of the many, many campaign promises that are continuously broken once the democrats are voted into office and the "scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours (but not really because I’ve got what I want now)" mentality that is plaguing the Democratic party. If they want the votes, they need to work for them and prove they deserve them the next time they are on the ballot.

I’m not one of them threatening that because frankly I’m exhausted of politics after the last two elections and just don’t have the energy to care much at present.

Progressives/far leftists/liberals/what have you’s aren’t generally voting along democrat lines because it’s what we *want* but rather because it’s what we’ve got, and because the other option is voting for blatant fascism.

We watched our dream candidate get sidelined and thrown in the garbage by democratic leadership for two presidential elections in a row despite having more than enough support from the American people.

So yeah, we’re going to be mad when we aren’t being heard and are forced to vote between a party that vaguely resembles our basic ideals and ...whatever the republican party is. Especially when we have idiots like Manchin & Sinema basically holding the entire democratic party hostage for the obvious sake of their own wallets, a fact they are not even really trying to hide at this point.

These people need the reminder that they are not put in office to cash in on a hefty pay day, but rather to govern for the American people. Because many get into the office and seem to immediately forget every promise they made along their campaign trail.

The viable third party dream is one I hope someday becomes a reality, because it’s desperately needed. Voting red and blue is sending our country nowhere but to its ultimate and inevitable demise.

--

--

Adi Cat

Mother to one human and three cats. Lover of words, food, and stirring the pot. LGBTQ+ and body positive. IG: @adimeows