Adi Cat
2 min readJan 24, 2022

--

Like some others here, I live with ADHD, along with other mental illnesses such as OCD, anxiety, and depression. This means that I have a compulsive need to complete specific tasks to perfection but also can't, because I often can't slow my brain down enough to concentrate on the individual steps without much time spent on prior planning, list writing, etc. And on the days that I can, I don't usually have the energy to move because of the depression and other physical disabilities that I have.

Aside from my own struggles. I also take care of my husband who is disabled and does his best around the house but literally has disintegrating bones in his ankles and feet along with a large handful of other conditions that have rendered him unable to hold a job.

I also work 50+ hours a week and home school my child during a god damn pandemic.

Do I always have time to keep my house as clean as I'd like? No. If I did it all with the minute amount of free time I *DO* have, my mental and physical health would suffer more endlessly than it already does. We don't live in filth, but am I down scrubbing baseboards or mopping every day? Absolutely -the fuck- not.

If you have the privilege and the luxury to keep your home as clean as you'd like, congratulations. Yes, you've undoubtedly noticed that I said luxury.

Free time and spare energy that aren't devoted to other tasks deemed more important are luxuries that many incredibly hard working people don't always have to spend on things like the inside of their home that nobody is likely seeing anyway because we are now technically in year 3 of a global pandemic.

Nobody needs to be shamed by someone who knows nothing about the life situations they were faced with.

--

--

Adi Cat

Mother to one human and three cats. Lover of words, food, and stirring the pot. LGBTQ+ and body positive. IG: @adimeows