Adi Cat
1 min readJan 26, 2022

--

THIS PART. I was hauled off in the back of a cop car to the psych ward, in handcuffs, for simply wanting to die. Being locked in the hospital against my will and in that specific situation was one of the most traumatizing experiences of my life, to the point that it’s 6 years later and I am still struggling with even talking honestly to a therapist, for fear I’ll end up back there.

It didn’t help that while I was there, one of the male patients punched and broke the dome over a security camera and held a room of us all hostage with a piece of sharp plastic (until security meandered it’s way in).

It absolutely did more harm than good and I did the same as you. Did whatever they wanted, played the game correctly and counted the minutes until I was finally let out. Absolutely the worst 72 hours of my life.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with this and I feel like it definitely needs to be talked about more. We don’t treat people with physical illness as though they are criminals, mental health issues shouldn’t be treated in such a criminal way either.

--

--

Adi Cat

Mother to one human and three cats. Lover of words, food, and stirring the pot. LGBTQ+ and body positive. IG: @adimeows